Week of January 26, 2014

CLARY-MICHAEL-240

In today’s first reading Isaiah speaks words of hope to a people forced into exile, “The people who walked in darkness have seen a great light…You have brought them abundant joy…”  In the Gospel of Matthew Jesus is seen as the fulfillment of that prophecy.  He is that great light.  As soon as Jesus begins his mission he calls disciples to know that light and be that light for  others.  Being light for others is our call too.  This past week I received the following thank you note from Great Beginnings ECC thanking us for being light.

Father Clary and Holy Spirit Parish,

     On behalf of the staff at Great Beginnings Early Childhood Center I would like to offer our sincere appreciation for the generosity of your parishioners through the Spirit of Giving Program.

     Your parishioners have blessed many of our students with backpacks for school and winter coats.  At Christmas, the outpouring of kindness brought joy to 33 of our families!

     Thank you, so much, to those that gave gifts, money, and time.  You helped to make some beautiful Christmas memories.

     We send special thanks to Mrs. Anna Vahrenberg who has poured so much love and time into this program.  She is a treasure!

–Best Regards, Mary Beth Panek, GBECC Social Worker

A good question for us at the beginning of each day is, “How will I be light today?”  At the end of the day we can ask, “How was I light today and is there anything I would like to change to help me be a better light of Christ’s love tomorrow?”

Following is a prayer/reflection entitled “An instrument of his love.”

Lord, make me an instrument of your love.
Where the darkness of loneliness reigns
let me bring the light of friendship.
Where the darkness of bitterness reigns
let me bring the light of forgiveness.
Where the darkness of hurt reigns
let me bring the light of healing.
Where the darkness of discord reigns
let me bring the light of harmony.
Where the darkness of sadness reigns
let me bring the light of joy.
Where the darkness of doubt reign,
let me bring the light of faith.
Where the darkness of despair reigns
let me bring the light of hope.
And where the darkness of hated reigns
let me bring the light of love.  Amen

 Let your light shine bright.

