Week of January 22, 2017

CLARY-MICHAEL-240

The people who walked in darkness have seen a great light; upon those who dwelt in the land of gloom a light has shone. (Is. 9:1)

Our informational forum about refugees on Thursday, January 12th, was well intended and thought provoking.  The Pastoral Council continues to look at ways it would be feasible for our parish to respond to the needs of refugees as well as outreach to people in need in our country.  Below is an adaptation of the Prayer of St. Francis that I came across. It  speaks to our Scriptures this weekend and the needs of people in our world.

Lord, make me an instrument of your love.

Where the darkness of loneliness reigns

let me bring the light of friendship.

Where the darkness of bitterness reigns

let me bring the light of forgiveness.

Where the darkness of hurt reigns

let me bring the light of healing

Where the darkness of discord reigns

let me bring the light of harmony.

Where the darkness of sadness reigns

let me bring the light of joy.

Where the darkness of doubt reigns

let me bring the light of hope.

And where the darkness of hatred reigns

let me bring the light of love.  Amen.

The informational forum about refugees will be on our parish app for those who would like to hear it. I am grateful for our speakers:  Fr. Paul Turner, pastor of St. Anthony Parish in Northeast Kansas City, Abdul Baker, program director for Della Lamb Refugee Services of Kansas City, and Dr. Sofia Khan, organizer of “KC for Refugees.”

I am also grateful for the refugee families who were present to share their stories of leaving their countries and coming here.  It was a very good evening.

